TENS In My Twenties: April 2012

1. 101 list, #72! Attend a meditation class.

On a random Wednesday when I was feeling a bit down, for no particular reason, and my thoughts seemed to be racing more than usual, I did something revolutionary. I googled. I found meditation classes for beginners from the Kadampa Meditation Center in New York. Ever since my 60 days of Bikram Yoga (and yes, after reading Eat, Pray, Love), I’ve wanted to try meditating. Because we should have more control over our ever changing thoughts, and it helps to look at the bright side and always stay composed. In The Tao of Pooh, Hoff writes about steadying your mind to be like the ocean. No matter what is going on on the surface, waves crashing, turns of tides, etc., deep down, you are solid and still. Guided meditation helps reach this and gives you a moment to step back, away from whatever is going on. I really, really liked it. Partly because I liked the instructor (I think this is a big deal- one of the classes I did, I didn’t care for the instructor as much), and I absolutely felt decompressed. I only laughed in one class (when I brought a friend- correction “drug a friend”). And it was easy, what with this, “google.” Find a class in your neighborhood and give it a try. Mine was easy- I just sat there and listened to a lecture, bookended with guided meditation. Namaste.

2. Red Ball Project
I am now privy that this has been happening, and I love it! It’s whimsical!

3. Cooking IN with Girlfriends
In New York, we eat out all the time. It’s my favorite thing to do, and 90% of my social activity. This is not only because of the restaurant selection, but because apartments are so small, making it difficult to cook or entertain. But not for my good friend, who has a huge, manicured, outfitted with outdoor dining furniture rooftop that overlooks the Brooklyn bridge. My “big ‘sis” had a group over for homemade pesto and fresh proscuitto over egg pasta from the nearby Italian market, over a fried egg. Delish! And went nicely with the wine. 🙂 Cook with your girlfriends! It’s fun, comfortable (you can have more pasta if you want more pasta!), and a change of pace that brings everyone together.


4. 101 List, #100! Give a Speech At A Friend’s Rehearsal Dinner

One of my best friends got married, and I had the priveledge of being a bridesmaid. Which meant…SPEECH! Having been an actress, I don’t mind public speaking, but finding the right words was something to think about. I tag teamed with another bridesmaid, and together we represented the friends. Most of which, all live in different cities than the bride. We spoke to how when we all come together, it’s like old times, and how great the bride is about keeping in touch, and always does her part in the friendship. And she will in her marriage as well! It was fun, a special memory, and everyone was far enough away to not smell my beer and barbecue breath.

5. My Little Brothers Are Grown Ups.
And that makes me old. Two of my three brothers celebrated their bdays this month. I still think of them as kids, and my jaw drops a little when I think that they are out there navigating their twenties as well. Here are their birthday cakes.

 

6. 101 List, #20: Learn My Blood Type and Donate Blood

I did it at work. And I’m A-positive. I received a donor card, the below note, and an orange juice.
We would like to thank you for your support at the Hearst blood drive.  One donation can save up to three lives; this means our donations have the potential to reach up to 141 people!  New York Blood Center alone requires over 2,000 volunteer blood donations each day to meet the transfusion needs of patients in close to 200 New York and New Jersey hospitals.  

7. Easter
Pastel dresses! Baskets! Brunch! And our dog in bunny ears.

8. Girls on HBO

Hilarious, genius. Dark, I warn you. But NAILS IT.

9. The Brain on Love
Great NYT Article by Diane Ackerman.

10. I WON AN iPAD

This is real, and not some email scheme about giving to Nigerians or receiving a gift in exchange for my social security number. I WON SOMETHING in a raffle at work! And it’s a brand new, iPad. Oh, snap. iPad has since been outfitted in a high-end case, app’d out, and renamed, iJack.

Leave a comment

Filed under TENS in my twenties

Comments are closed.