TENS in My Twenties: January 2012

I admittedly screwed the pooch when it came to keeping up with this in Q4 2011. I apologize. Since I only have 9 mos left in my twenties, I promise to be on this like Seal on a divorce attorney (too soon?).

Here is what I have enjoyed and am grateful for in January 2012.

1. The Houston Texans Make the Playoffs
This was a big deal for my family. We grew up on the Oilers, they peaced out. When Houston got a new football team, the Effenson season tickets were lined up quickly (thanks, Papa Bear). This year, the Texans made the playoffs for the first time in 10 years. After watching airfares the entire week, by Friday tickets were low enough, miles were forfeited, and I had a ticket booked by 12 noon. I had just enough time to run home, throw some close in a bag, and get to JFK for a 9pm flight. And that’s how it’s done.

Texans vs. Bengals

2. Atlanta
The very next weekend took me to Atlanta to kick it with Phaedra Parks. Not really. I went to visit my best friend from childhood, her husband, and their 1-year old, Jack, who I had only met once before, and otherwise when he was in his mommy’s tummy. He gave me a hug when the Texans lost to Baltimore in the second playoff round. Also, I had Chick Filet and it was smashing.

Adorable Jack. Don't even act like you're not jealous of his outfit. It's Marc Jacobs. Just kidding.

3. Napa
My third travel weekend in a row was to San Fran for another besties’ 30th birthday.

4. My Little Pony
If you didn’t notice on Facebook, I made myself a custom My Little Pony and am fine with that.

5. A Hippo Bar
This bar from Lauren Santo Domingo’s apartment is cool on so many levels. One: invisioning drunk hippos. Two: The opportunity to say, have some brandy straight from the hippos butt. Best bar EVER, and you know I love my home bars.

6. Donuts at Hearth
These were delicious, as was the entire meal. Definitely recommend Hearth as a spot to try in NYC.

Apple cider donuts. I shared, but didn't want to. (My life in six words of less).

7.  Bargain Buys on Kelly Market
Money saving: Yes! Cute: Absolutely!

I'm in to this highlighter yellow thing. As the classic highlighter color, I feel that it will garner obnoxious attention toward me.

8. Kitchen Sink Cookies
Inspired by Momofuku Milk Bar’s Compost Cookie (name change, guys), I made my own kitchen sink cookie for a treat for a super bowl party this Sunday, a thoughtful gift, and leftovers went to the office. Here’s the lowdown: Mix 1 3/4 cup flour with a touch of cinnamon, tsp baking soda and powder, and sprinkles if you so chose (I did. I truly believe that when in doubt, go sprinkles). Separately mix a cup of sugar, 1/2 cup light brown sugar, tsp corn starch, tsp vanilla, and 1 1/2 sticks softened butter. The separately, mix the junk: favorite candies, chips, pretzels, granola, peanuts, chocolate chips, toffee, butterscotch…however you want to fly that kite. MIX TOGETHER and experience beautiful gooey integration. Throw that blend in the fridge for 30 minutes+ (a must so they cook right) and watch an episode of The Real Housewives of Beverly Hills. Bake for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees. Chow.

9. Loving the Kid Inside
Vanity Fair’s lovely nod to childhood on Charles Dickens’ 200th birthday. Read it here. You’ll be happy you did.


10. Orangatans on an iPad
As they should be.

Do you think he's reading Chocolate vs. Sex? Click the pic to read the story, pretty good.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies, Donuts, Friendship, Gratitude, TENS in my twenties

Comments are closed.