TENS in My Twenties: September 2011

1. 101 List: Go to the U.S. Open! 
I was surprised for my birthday with tickets to the U.S. Open Women’s Finals. I’ve always wanted to go, and it was an amazing Sunday. To boot, our ticket package included breakfast, open bar, and a Q&A with tennis legend and women’s  social equality pioneer, Billy Jean King. This was #58 on my 101 list.

Q&A with Billie Jean King.

Gourmet ding dong served at U.S. Open Q&A. I do enjoy a treat...

Don't mind if I do...

2. Any Samberg, Tennis Pro
Speaking of tennis, have a nice chuckle from these Andy Samberg tribute photos to iconic tennis players from NY Times Magazine. All we need is Richie Tenenbaum. Also, Lonely Island’s performance at the Emmy’s, well, made the Emmy’s. And Melissa McCarthy’s win. And that.

Click to see more.

3. My birthday!
I turned 29 y’all. Last year to make bad decisions. It’s kind of a relief.

Another street quote on the Upper East Side!

Flowers given to me at work, from my boss. 🙂

Me at 29. Bangs!

4. Fashion Week Candy Shoe
A shoe made entirely of candy??? My personal heaven is filled with these!

Yummiest stiletto around.

Close up: the shoe was made of m&m's, and held together by gummy bears and melted rock candy.

A sweet candy-inspired shoe post at Cupcakes & Cashmere.

5. Wedding Cake!
In mid-September I went to North Carolina for one of my closest friends wedding. The bride and groom both live in NY, so to bring the city to the south, THIS was the cake!

NYC Skyline.

6. 101 List: Road trip from San Francisco to LA!
I took a week off of work with one of my best friends, spent 5 days in LA, and did the PCH (Highway 1) drive down to Los Angeles. We stopped at Hearst Castle in San Simeon, and Santa Barbara for a day/night. It was a long and winding road (toast, Sir Paul McCartney), overlooking ocean that helps you to believe in God, and fog that makes you question if you entered Jurassic Park. Below are trip highlights.

Beach in Pescadero.


Shadow.

Half Moon Bay.

Feet in Capitola (neighbor to Santa Cruz).

Silver Oak Winery in Napa. All cabernets.

Harbor in Monterey. Stopped there for lunch during drive.

Hearst Castle in San Simeon. A little "pit stop" into the late afternoon.

Mountain view at Hearst castle.

My brother's beagle, Tatum, greeting us as we pull into L.A.


7. CA Treats
Hope you’re hungry.

Duarte's in Pescadero. Looks like a dump, but still one of the best meals I've ever eaten in the middle of artichoke farms and the beach.

Pescadero houses artichoke farms just off the cliffs, where you can get perfect ones like these at the market.

Artichoke soup, with straight from the farm ingredients. Homemade sourdough. Might not look like much, but she's a beauty.

Olallieberry pie. What's an olalliberry? Sort of like a blackberry. Don't worry about it- it's local and delicious. Shhhh. Eat.

2003 James Beard Medal at Duartes. The artichoke soup, y'all.

BLONDIE Mary made from heirloom tomatoes at Bistro Don Giovanni in Napa.

Princess Cakes in Santa Cruz. We didn't have a slice, but aren't they pretty!!!

Patio at Roblar Winery- 40 minutes outside Santa Barbara.

Truffles in raspberry sauce that accompanied our wine tasting at Roblar.

Roblar Vineyard.

After a long drive, we had a late dinner at Bouchon in Santa Barbara. All local ingredients, all done perfectly. These are scallops three ways.

Key lime tart. Made especially tart with local fingerlimes. Not my typical order, but the local flavors make it worth it.

Last night in LA. Looking over menu at Chateau Marmont. As if I'm not going to have the ricotta gnocchi...

Cheese plate at Chateau. You are definitely NOT allowed to take pictures here. We snuck these in, hence it being so dark.

Chocolate souffle at Chateau. Thick chocolate awesomeness.

8. The New Girl
Watching. Loving. Well done. And honorable mention for Zooey Deschanel’s hair. I’ll never see my stylist again without a picture of her. Even I got bangs.

Tell me you don't want your hair to look like this...

9. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close Trailer.
Hands down, my all-time favorite book. If you haven’t read it, do before the movie comes out.

Click to watch.

10. Citta del Mar in Sicily, Italy.
Learned that this exists.

29 is NOT too old for a water slide. Or ice cream cake.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.