Words Words Words

In My Fair Lady, Eliza Doolittle sang, “Words! Words! Words! I’m so sick of words…Don’t talk of stars, burning above, if you’re in love, show me!”

Pink tie from the wedding was the first man I would have feelings for in a long while, even if they were only ever so slight. And I think I liked him because he was great with words. A really romantic guy. Sometimes over the top with sweet gestures, flowers, etc. And since we lived in different cities, all we had really were our words.

As a writer, I sometimes take advantage of them. I forget that they aren’t a knack for everyone. Which isn’t fair. I read great books, hear lines in movies, lyrics from a song and think, “why doesn’t he say that??” It’s an unfair expectation.

Pink tie knew the Toto song “Africa” was one of my faves. As are most things 80’s. Before he himself boarded a plane to Africa to coach lacrosse, he sent me a text that read, “It’s gonna take a lot to take me away from you! There’s nothin that a hundred men or more could ever do!”

I went into the restroom at my office, checked that I was alone, and spent a brief moment jumping around.

The courtship was fun- romantic and innocent, and of course, fleeting. My biggest disappointment was that he told me the best song lyrics that I always dreamed of hearing from a guy. Today, I realize it’s not the words that matter AT ALL. The words can be nothing. It’s when they come from the right person, no matter how simple or non-poetic, that they are everything.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.